National Honor Society Induction 2017

Marian Blog

National Honor Society Induction 2017

On the surprisingly warm Sunday afternoon of October 22, 2017, thirty-six young men and women of Marian High School were honored in the school auditorium at the annual induction ceremony of the Marian Chapter of National Honor Society. Members of the senior and junior classes, fifteen of the honorees were incumbents and twenty-one were inductees.

Following an invocation by Mr. John Ermilio, President of Marian High School, and the installation of officers by Mr. Gerard Herlihy, adviser to the NHS chapter, the traditional ceremony of candles took place, conducted by the four officers, each of whom defined one of the four qualities of members of National Honor Society: character, scholarship, leadership, and service. The new officers are: Benjamin Guerriero, president; Julianna Bauer, vice president; Audrey Burnham, secretary, and Roisin McGarry, treasurer.

President Guerriero then administered the oath of induction to the twenty-one newly elected members. Each member was then summoned to center stage to receive his or her membership card while Mr. Stephen Flynn, master of ceremonies, saluted some of the accomplishments of each inductee. Principal Brian Donohue distributed the cards. It was then time for the incumbents to be similarly honored, in their case receiving their certificate and pin from Mr. Ermilio.

Following reflections by Mr. Herlihy, the NHS members processed out of the auditorium to the strains of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy.” A reception followed in the cafeteria.

Thanks go to Mr. George Perrone and his student orchestra for providing music for the ceremony. A special tip of the hat goes to Kristina Morreale, an incumbent member, for her musical contribution.

The list of members of the Marian Chapter of the National Honor Society for 2017-2018 is as follows:


Mariana Avila

Margaret Bogner

Isabella Callery

Carolina Canhoto

Jianing (Stephen) Deng

Paige DeVeau

Ryan Gasparro

Jordana Kasaato

Daniel Lavin

Sophie Moise

Han (Kathy) Nguyen

Brendan Seitz

Tianqi (Tammy) Sun

Christopher Thokar

Katherine Wettengel

Yidi Wu

Yilun (Lilo) Wu

Xianqi (Ophelia) Xiao

Zhihao (Howard) Yang

Tianxu (Eric) Zhang

Yujie (Audrey) Zhang


Sofia Antonellis

Julianna Bauer

Elizabeth Bishop

Audrey Burnham

Liam Flaherty

Yidan (Rebecca) Gao

Katherine Gore

Benjamin Guerriero

Rachel Krueger

Jane Langan

Christopher Liazos

Ziyi (Melody) Lu

Roisin McGarry

Kristina Morreale

Aidan Scamby